My New Favorite Toy

I recently did my tax return  and with the good news of a refund I decided to do something that I have been dreading for a long time……… I purchased another Garmin GPS unit along with a Heart rate monitor. I have been dreading this day because when I train with one I tend to get lost in the pace per mile and my runs end up being stupid fast every day. I ended up selling my last Garmin because I had a two week streak where I ran all my miles at about 7:15 pace or faster and I never felt like I was recovering.

With this Garmin I decided I would do things differently. I purchased the one with the heart rate monitor and decided that instead of going crazy on trying to run as fast as possible all the time, I’ve decided that I’ll wear my HRM on my easy days and try to stay as low as possible. The first time I did this I saw great results the next day. I took my easy run EASY and the next day I had the best run I’ve had in 6 months.

I didn’t only pick this Garmin because it does pace on the run, I also got it because it’ll work in the water and on the bike. I can get a pretty accurate reading of distance if I ever do ocean swims and I can buy both a cadence sensor and a power meter. As an aspiring triathlete this watch is an all in one. The watch will even track multisport workouts and display them on their training site. In the near future I will get to play with all of these features, but until then I will be enjoying it on my runs and as a tracker on the bike.

Touchscreen: no
Weight: 2.5 oz (72 g)
Battery: rechargeable lithium-ion
Battery life: 20 hours, typical
Water resistant: yes (50m)
GPS-enabled: yes
High-sensitivity receiver: yes
Heart rate monitor: yes (optional)
Bike speed/cadence sensor: yes (optional)
Foot pod: yes (optional)
Automatic sync (automatically transfers data to your computer): yes
Garmin Connect™ compatible (online community where you analyze, categorize and share data): yes

I am in no way affiliated with this product and am writing this based on my experience with the watch. If you have any questions regarding my post feel free to e-mail me at ddetorres1@gmail.com. If you are interested in purchasing one check out the Jacksonville Running company or www.garmin.com.

About darrinruns

Avid runner Ad Major Always Thinking

Posted on January 18, 2011, in Gear, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

